Eli Cooks


Carrots with Garlic and Ginger
September 3, 2008, 1:23 pm
Filed under: Side | Tags: , ,

Carrots with garlic and ginger

One of the things I’ve really enjoyed about subscribing to the CSA this year is that I get a box of random produce every other week.  It makes dinner every night a bit like mystery box cooking…open the fridge and see what’s there to work with.  There are also things I haven’t enjoyed about having the CSA, mainly that I haven’t made it to the farmers market much this year because I don’t want to go get more produce when I already have a fridge full at home.  I’m trying to figure out how to balance the two so I can continue getting my myster box (and supporting the farmers) without losing those trips to the farmers market.  So far my main idea is just to cook more at home…but that has its own problems.

Garlic and Ginger

One night last week that mystery box led me to this recipe.  I had a few pounds of carrots in the box that really needed to be used.  Noone in my family is fond of the common overcooked, too sweet glazed carrots, so that was right out.  We had too many carrots to assume we’d just eat them as carrot sticks; too many to just toss a few into a stir fry with other veggies.  I needed something to feature carrots.  I landed on a simple saute of carrots with a ton of garlic and ginger, and it turned out beautifully.  I honestly don’t remember what main dish we had with the carrots…they definitely stole the show.  

carrots

Carrots with Garlic and Ginger    

Getting a good amount of caramelization on the carrots is key here.  Carrots have a very high sugar content; cooking them over high heat allows that sugar to caramelize before the carrots are overcooked.  The garlic and ginger balance the sweetness of the caramelized carrots.

1 1/2 lb carrots, cut into discs
1/2″ ginger, minced
2 large cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbsp olive oil
salt

Heat the olive oil over high heat. Add the garlic and ginger and cook about 2 minutes until just starting to brown. Add the carrots and continue cooking over high heat until nicely browned and tender, stirring occasionally. (About 10 minutes.)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

